Monday, March 15, 2010

Facebook Friend

If I could be Facebook friends with anyone in the whole world it would definitely be Jesus. I think it would be so awesome because it would make things so much easier! He would be on 24/7 and would be able to talk to you anytime no matter how many other people were talking to him! So if I ever had a problem or didn’t know what to do I could just get on Facebook and chat with him or send him a message and get an immediate answer! It would be so great. And instead of a “like” button it would be a “love” button and he would love all of my pictures and everything because he loves me. He would have positive and encouraging wall posts all of the time, so I could just go to his page and just look at his wall if I were ever feeling down. Of course, this would kind of defeat the purpose of praying and having faith, but it would just be a more straight forward way of doing it. It would be sweet to see a bunch of pictures of him and like his disciples and everything. And yeah, they didn’t have cameras back then, but hey it’s Jesus, he can do anything! Haha. I think it would just be cool to get a very straightforward response because it would make things so less stressful and I could get good advice whenever I wanted. I definitely would love to get a friend request from Jesus!

Rich or Smart?

If I had the choice to be either rich or smart, I think I would choose to be smart. I believe that money isn’t everything in life, and I would hate to be rich but be downright stupid. I feel that if I were to have intelligence, then I would be able to use it to at least have a good amount of money. If you are rich but have no intelligence, then that means you probably would have gotten that way from inheritance. I think that a lot of people who don’t even work hard and have to build up to reach the top lose out on lessons in life. They wouldn’t learn how to work hard for things, which might cause them to be very spoiled and ungrateful for the things they have been given. I’m not saying everyone who is rich is like this, but many are. Also, I’m not saying it wouldn’t be nice to have the luxury of being able to buy whatever I felt like and to have a lot of money, but I definitely think my character is more important than anything money could buy. Plus, I wouldn’t want to become so wrapped up with my money and buying material things because, again, that isn’t what is important to me in life. If I could have the best of both worlds and just be rich and smart that would be very nice, but I’m okay with not being rich, but I take pride in my intelligence so that is definitely the one I would choose.

"Tsotsi"

My CST teacher is giving us extra credit for watching a movie and writing a paper about it. She gave us a choice between four different movies, and I ended up picking one called “Tsotsi”. I just got done watching it, so I thought it would be a good one to blog about. Chances are you haven’t heard of it or don’t have any idea what is about because I didn’t either. Tsotsi is an extraordinary movie that portrays the gangster life in the hood of South Africa. The main character, who is known by Tsotsi which means thug or gangster, is the leader of a gang. His age is never mentioned for certain, but he looked to be a boy in his teens. Desperate for money and a sense of power, Tsotsi is willing to go to any lengths necessary to get money from people, even murder. The beginning introduces the characters and allows the audience to get an idea of their personalities, but the plot intensifies when Tsotsi shoots a woman in the process of stealing her car and then realizes that her baby is in it. Tsotsi, an orphan due to his mom dying of AIDS, is not a very loving or caring person. He decides to try and take care of the baby, however, and his character slowly grows as he faces taking care of a baby in the midst of the hood life. Overall, I thought it was an okay movie. I didn’t feel like it had a climax or anything, and it ends kind of strangely. It did a good job, however, at portraying the poverty and crime in South Africa.

Wednesday, March 3, 2010

I chose Life for my movie evaluation, as about half of the class did, so most of you know what it’s about, but for those who don’t I’ll give a quick summary. Two guys, Ray (Murphy) and Claude (Lawrence), who are from Harlem, New York, are accused of a murdered. Since it is 1932, they aren’t given a fair trial because they are black, so they are sentenced to life in jail. They have to adjust to their life in prison, learn to get along with the inmates, deal with the ruthless guards, and watch many people come and go. They attempt to escape a couple of times, but fail, and end up being in there for 65 years. I’ll leave out how it ends in case anyone wants to see it.
I have never been a big fan of Eddie Murphy; I’ve always found his acting in most of his movies to be over the top and just somewhat annoying. So I wasn’t sure how much I would like this movie, but I liked it more than I thought I would. I think this is the case because Murphy doesn’t play his typical “look at me”, comical character. He actually shares the main role with Lawrence, and he has some moments in the movie that are actually very serious. The movie is considered a comedy, but if you’re looking for a good laugh, I wouldn’t choose this movie. I didn’t think the movie was horrible simply because it was interesting, but I didn’t find it very comical. Yes, it did have its funny parts, but the fact that they were innocently given a life sentence in jail and had to spend their whole lives there was anything but funny. The overall movie wasn’t horrible, but if you’re Murphy fans and are in a mood for a comical movie, I wouldn’t suggest it.